See you next Wednesday.

I’m coming back on Tuesday but I realized I probably won’t get around to blogging until Wednesday, so as much as I wanted to write “See you next Tuesday,” it would be a lie. Plus I may even decide to take my computer with me at the last minute and actually find time to blog.

There is all kinds of drama looming with this trip to meet my mom’s family. I don’t want to go into it now, but there are things I’m worried about, disappointments looming, but of course I’m going ahead with it anyhow. There are good things, too.

My biggest fear is that it will be tedious, that I won’t connect, that it will not be meaningful in the ways I hope it will be. I think it’s a very irrational fear, but one I can’t help having. The fear of going through the motions. It’s like fearing a plane crash. It’s very unlikely, but terrifying anyhow because it’s something you really can’t do anything about.

Anyhow, this should be interesting.

9 Responses to “See you next Wednesday.”


  1. 1 Elizabeth August 9, 2007 at 8:08 am

    bon Voyage!

  2. 2 Sue August 9, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    Safe travels–in every sense of the word. Whenever you are miserable plan your next blog post. Whenever you are happy, plan your next blog post. It gets me through just about everything life throws in my face.

  3. 3 stewie August 9, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Godspeed, just take it minute by minute. Try to enjoy it even when it is really freaking you out. we’ll miss ya!

  4. 4 Theresa August 10, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    I’ve been a bad blog neighbor lately; I’m sorry I’ve been overwhelmed with work. I did know you have this visit coming up and I am thinking of you very, very much. You take care.

  5. 5 Valentina August 11, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Looking forward to hearing how it went. I hope you find a connection, it isn’t tedious, and the drama remains at a low boil. I’m sure interesting will be an understatement.

    All my best.

  6. 6 Lillie August 11, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Good luck iB, I’ll be thinking of you!

  7. 7 joy August 14, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    it’s Tuesday, you are back.

  8. 8 Sunny August 15, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Have been thinking about you…hope things went well on your journey…

  9. 9 Kippa August 15, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Me too. Best wishes.


Leave a Reply

