Pictures of a lost childhood.

My favorite picture of my mom is one from when she was 18 that was taken at an angle that suggests she’s looking down slightly at the camera. She is wearing a smile that I would describe as amused and patient. I would describe it that way because I have the same smile when I am amused and patient.

It’s hard not to imagine being a little kid and saying, “Hey mom, look at me!” while doing some goofy kid thing and getting a look like that. My daughter does that kind of stuff and I am sure I look at her exactly that way: I love you and you never cease to amaze me but seriously, what on earth are you doing?

Of course, she was a too little young in that picture. She was 22 when I was born. But it’s probably not too far off. A young mom, a kid doing goofy stuff, and an amused, patient, loving smile. I think she’s about to remind me that it’s time for lunch.

I miss all these things that never happened.

2 Responses to “Pictures of a lost childhood.”


  1. 1 justenjoyhim June 22, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Ohhhhh.

    I miss all these things that never happened.

    That’s just so poignant and sad.

  2. 2 Valentina July 5, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    I’ve seen pictures, too. Home movies can be even worse. So funny to hear you put it that way, “I miss all these things that never happened.” Yes. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

