My smile isn’t stupid.

I sent the second letter to my aunt this morning, and this afternoon a letter from her arrived, along with photos. Fate has a quick turnaround time.

All my life, I have never liked having my picture taken. I thought my face looked dumb. I thought my smile looked dumb. I though I looked dumb. I looked so different from everybody else. Why couldn’t I have a normal face? Why couldn’t I have normal facial expressions? Especially those smiles. I have three distinct smiles in the various pictures people have managed to get me to pose for. I hated all three of them.

I don’t hate them anymore. I don’t hate my face anymore. I don’t cringe at the thought of how I look in photographs anymore.

I look just like her. I have her face. Seriously, these pictures are me as a woman. All three of those smiles came from her, and seeing them makes me smile automatically in response. She was beautiful. She was the sort of person whose smile makes you smile back.

I am this woman’s child; I can’t possibly be ugly.

3 Responses to “My smile isn’t stupid.”


  1. 1 justenjoyhim June 13, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    And that post makes me smile. 😀

  2. 2 Julie June 14, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Ahhhhh…. iBastard, I know that feeling so so well and so I am smiling freely right along with you.

  3. 3 Valentina July 5, 2007 at 7:37 am

    You are so fortunate in this.

    I don’t resemble mine, or him (yes, it’s really him). My children do not resemble me. One of my greatest desires has never come to pass. I hold out hope that I will one day see my paternal grandmother’s photos of herself in her younger years, because I think she’s my chance.

    Ah, the photos. What a gift. I am happy for you that you look just like her!


Leave a Reply

