The call.

The mail goes a lot faster these days than I remember. Her sister (my aunt) called.

It’s true. And strangely I do not feel sad right now. I know it’s still there, the sadness, lurking in the dark, getting ready to step out, grab me with its gnarled hands and carry me down into the depths once the bright light of knowing that Ruby was my mom and she loved me starts to fade and the shadows grow long.

But not yet. I am reeling with all the new things I know. I am reeling with the love I feel. I am amazed. Words failed me on the phone and they are failing me now.

2 Responses to “The call.”


  1. 1 Marilyn K. Phillips June 10, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Wow, to hear your pain and love is kind of overwhelming but “good for us to hear” as a mom I’d give my eye teeth to hear that my daughter loved me. To hear your love come thru so strongly and knowing that your mom and family got to see you and all loved you is wonderful and yet one of those double edged swords wishing they would of figured out a way to keep you and all the thoughts on both sides of that issue. You explain your feelings very well and it brings even more understanding to us. Bless You as you go thru the ups and downs that come. Marilyn

  2. 2 Valentina July 5, 2007 at 6:34 am

    I am so sorry for your loss.


Leave a Reply

